Python in VisualStudio 2013

For a very long time, I’ve been completely satisfied coding on the .NET framework using the C# language. As a CTO, I really shouldn’t be doing that much coding, but heck – I work at a startup and we’re small enough and have enough work for me to still have some stuff to do. If not, I’m gonna play around with this stuff anyway 🙂

I’ve known about the IronPython project for a very long time now, but never really looked into the it or the Python language itself since … as I said … was super happy with C# (and later F# – a [non-pure] functional programming language on the .NET Framework)

The .NET framework has always been able to support any number of languages being complied to its Intermediate Language or IL (or Common IL / CIL) so that they can be executed on by the CLR – Common Language Runtime. For a list of those language see: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Microsoft_.NET_Languages

Yup! Visual COBOL is in there too! – and so is python. Since I’m already familiar with the .NET Framework, and can leverage my knowledge of the Base Class Library there, then I thought IronPython would be an interesting place to start learning the language for me.

image

The Python languages seem to be in serious use at companies like Google. As with any developer, it’s important that you learn stuff. I thought that in my learning exercises for many different languages, I’d give some dedicated time to Python.

When you install IronPython you get some documentation as well we a couple of python consoles. At the console, you can pretty much do whatever you need using the Python interpreter. I know that some developers prefer and IDE to the console, so I did a quick search and found this: http://pytools.codeplex.com/

I’m also a big Visual Studio IDE fan, and this little extra set of pytools allows us to use VS as my IronPython coding IDE.

image

There a ton of “learn to code in Python” resources out there. I’m still compiling a list myself. One pretty good place to start is to check out this Google python course that has both prose and video follow along. (see the “Lecture Videos Day 1, Day 2” on the left)

https://developers.google.com/edu/python/

Cheers

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Google, Personal Projects

Leave a Reply

Calendar
February 2014
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 410 other followers

