Attending the NY Tech Day 2013 Conference

Having just put on the CDX conference back at home in Trinidad, coming to this conference is just the thing that I needed. NY Tech Day certainly put things in perspective for me. CDX2.0 was a great event, lots of folks giving positive feedback and some others highlighting areas that could be improved, but all in all the conference was excellent.

NY Tech Day (as can be expected) was on a whole different scale. Note that I deliberately said “scale” and not “level” because I genuinely believe that even though CDX was a different type of conference, it was of higher quality than the Tech Day Expo. I’m actually sitting right now in a booth called Roomorama. The ladies here were very friendly and have allow me some time to relax and charge my phone in this this absolutely packed out conference.

Simply coming here are talking to the startup folks at the booths is amazing … and not so much because the ideas here are so super fantastic, but more so because I feel like what’s being done here in NY, one of the “Greatest cities in the World” can absolutely be done by the technical folks at home in Trinidad and the Caribbean…. in case it didn’t sink in the first time … Let me say that again …

ALMOST EVERYTHING THAT I’VE SEEN HERE CAN BE DONE BY DEVELOPERS FROM THE CARIBBEAN.

One comment that I heard repeated quite a lot from our CDX conference attendees in Trinidad was that they felt like a lot of the content applied to markets other than Trinidad and Tobago and the rest of the region… To be honest, I was actually quite disappointed and saddened by that feedback. Personally, I felt like there was so much to take away from our international speaker sessions … I would really love for the folks at home, especially those in leadership positions to start seeing beyond the differences and challenges in the application of technologies in territories other than ours and begin to see the similarities … start seeing why we CAN do it and not why we can’t.

The only difference I see in getting it done is

  1. Vision
  2. Passion
  3. Leadership

There was so much to digest here I think I’ll have to do another post talking about different companies at the conference.

I will be posting some photos of the event with some details of the companies that I found interesting … stay tuned.

[UPDATE]

Link to photos here: https://plus.google.com/photos/109719344668403755799/albums/5871227292416203665

Cheers

Posted in Entrepreneurship, National & Regional Development, Random Thoughts, Research, Social Networking, Startup

Leave a Reply

Calendar
April 2013
S M T W T F S
« Feb   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 410 other followers

