LinqPad, fantastic .NET developer tool

Hey guys,

I know I know … long time me no blog (makes cave man face – whatever that is). I’ve really been heads down on a number of things, but this morning I thought I’d that pop my head up really quickly to do a short post on a tool that I think is pretty awesome and can really boost your .NET developer productivity if you’re doing any database work and you’re making use of .NET’s build-in Language INtegrated Query (LINQ). For the non-hardcore-technical readers it’s basically a easier way to query your database in the same language that you use to write your web, desktop and mobile apps on the .NET Framework (without it you have to write your queries in another, more *query* friendly language which get’s things complicated over time – some developers use the term an “impedance mismatch” in language domains)

imageI’ve know about LINQPad for some time, but really didn’t *see* (or rather understand) the need for it. I’m currently working on a couple of web projects and as an engineer and a architect, I always have to keep an eye out of the tools and procedures that help to make me and my teams more productive. So ladies and gentlemen, I give you … LINQPad (http://linqpad.com), an extremely useful tool for creating and testing LINQ expressions in against your database or your DataContexts (either DB first or CodeFirst) that seriously reduced my query development time. See with this tool, if my queries didn’t work, I’d have to dig through my Data Access Layer code trying to spot the issue … and lots of times, the code is syntactically correct, but semantically puking all over itself … that being the case, I’d usually have to jump through the following hoops … *sigh* … search for bug … edit code … rebuild solution … run web app … login … browse to feature, use feature that invokes the code that make the query … cross fingers and hope it works … uh … I mean marvel at my awesome coding prowess and the code is completely fix on my first try :P

Seriously though, with this tool, I was able to point at my application assembly, load up my CodeFirst based DataContext and query quickly against a real database to my heart’s content and after I stepped up from the free version to the paid version it only got like 1000 time better! I’m able to write and edit full blown C# statements with actually represents subsets of my code base allowing me to test not just LINQ queries, but entire blocks of logic that affect or use my database… HUGE TIME SAVER!

I highly recommend paying for this product and getting your LINQ on!

As always, I hope this was useful … Happy Hacking!

– Cheers

Posted in Random Thoughts

Leave a Reply

Calendar
February 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728  

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 410 other followers

