How do great leaders inspire action? – They start with the “Why”

I generally consume a lot of presentations and documentaries; this is how I spend a lot of time on the web. Blogging consistently does require a level of discpline and time management that I’m still working at, while I get better at it, I thought it may be useful to share some of the video resources that I consume.

Lately, I have found myself terribly interested in leadership, effective teams, innovation, entrepreneurship, etc. This is one interesting resource that I watched lately and based on my experience Simon’s position has a lot of merit. He talks about something that he calls the golden circle.

Simon Sinek: How great leaders inspire action

Simon is definitely on to something, which gets me thinking about the next logical question – What do I believe? What is my “Why?”

It may be that there is not one answer for you, but the people that I relate to are definitely motivated and whether they are conscious of it or not, they are very driven by a “Why”. I urge you seek out your ‘why’, define, write it down, talk about it with others and refine it.

On a lighter note, when Simon got to the why in his presentation, I couldn’t help remember the scene from the Matrix Reloaded where Morpheus, Trinity and Neo met with the Merovingian:

“This is how you come to me… without the ‘why’…”

Simon also has an Interesting book that can be found on Amazon expounding on this position. I have already queued this one up on my reading list for this year.

Start with Why: How Great Leaders Inspire Everyone to Take Action

Why do you do what you do?

Why are some people and organizations more innovative, more influential, and more profitable than others?

Why do some command greater loyalty from customers and employees alike?

Even among the successful, why are so few able to repeat their success over and over?

I hope you find this as useful as I have. Until the next post, Cheers.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Random Thoughts, Research

Leave a Reply

Calendar
May 2011
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 410 other followers

