Thoughts after a long silence … My head is still in the Clouds

Since my last 1/2 post, I’ve not really kept up with my blogging as I originally intended. Though I’ve not strayed away from my interests and things at the new job are progressing quite nicely.

I was unable to complete the research necessary to bring my previous post to a close and that has had an effect on my desire to start future posts, but such is life in the tropics. Since then I have continued to pursue areas of (fairly) long standing interests, namely

  1. Web 2.0
  2. The Mobile Web
  3. The Cloud (Infrastructure, Platform and Software)
  4. Crowds (+ its social impact on all of the above)
  5. Technology & Nation Building

With fairly little effort I have been able to truly leverage services in the “cloud” to function across machines, environments and even operating systems. I can now say without a doubt that it is largely possible to function very productively with a combination of free software and on line services.

I have recently re-installed a fully legal copy of Windows 7 (and purchased office online) on my desktop machine, in doing so I have decided to try out some free software (specifically from Microsoft) that I had previously grown tired of. Some of these are –

  1. Internet Explorer 9Jumplists are a killer feature for me
  2. Windows Live EssentialsMail all but replaces Outlook, Messenger integrates my social network contacts, Photo Gallery is excellent at getting my photos organized and published to social media sites and I’m writing this entry right now from Live Writer
  3. Skype – My best video and voice calling experience has thus far been with Skype
  4. Google Bookmark Sync – Allows me to move from PC to PC and keep all my bookmarks synchronized
    There are a number of others, but I don’t want to make this post too long. If I had to choose one to ask you guys to try out, I’d tell you give IE9 a shot. I mean IE9 as a core browser is still no Opera 11.10 in terms of features, speed and just the amount of thought put into the act of browsing, but IE9’s integration with popular online web sites and the Windows 7 taskbar is something that I have found phenomenally useful.

My taskbar now look like this:

image

Living in the cloud by leveraging free online services and technology that make it easy to use has been a fantastic experience so far, but it is not without its share of hiccups. Amazon’s recent Cloud Service Glitch that brought down some very popular web sites that relied on their services causing many to call into question the “resiliency boasts” of nearly all cloud vendors.

Well, these are my quick thoughts for today… hopefully this post will get me back into gear and posting more regularly. In the mean time, keep your feet on the ground and your head in the “Cloud”

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Calendar
April 2011
S M T W T F S
« Feb   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 410 other followers

