The Plan … HTC Touch Diamond 2 … meet Android

I’ve been a champion of Microsoft technology for some time, primarily because I love the productivity and coherence of their software development ecosystem. So, I’ve been supporting their mobile device efforts for as long as I could have afforded it. My complete mobile phone history, if I recall correctly is:

1. Nokia 3280
2. Nokia 6310i
3. Plam Treo 600
4. Palm Treo 650
5. Motorola SLVR L6
6. HTC S610
7. HTC S640
8. HTC Touch Diamond 2
9. HTC HD7
[It would be really interesting to hear from you guys about what your mobile history is]

Wow… When I started that list a moment ago, I didn’t realize that in the space of less than 10 years, I’ve had 9 phones with only 2 of them

    NOT

being “Smart Phones”. This is even more interesting since I think the true value of smart phones are just dawning on me. Couple that with the fact that our infrastructure in Trinidad & Tobago didn’t really “support” [in terms of the combination of cost and capability, at least for mobile handsets] mobile broadband, this is a bit surprising. Trinidad has had GPRS and EDGE for some time, but it doesn’t seem like our carriers had or even currently have a road map for where they want to go with mobile web connectivity with one exception, RIM. They certainly got it right here in Trinidad and it seems other developing economies.This seems to be part of their strategy, but that touches on other things that I’ve been thinking about and a is probably a topic for another post. Jeez … this was supposed to be a really short entry… Moving on…

Having recently worked out of the US for the last couple (and a little more) months recently, I paid special attention to the nature and culture of their mobile carriers and consumers and the preferences of each. I was fascinated to observe the sheer number of smart devices available and how they are used with supported with proper infrastructure, services and content (see footnote). Here was I thinking that my recently bought HTC Touch Diamond 2 was more than enough to plug into the Boston “Matrix”, and to be fair, it was extremely useful, but when compared to the likes of the iPhone 4 and the host of Android devices that I would see everywhere, its inferiority in the areas of performance and capability became painfully apparent.

So I bought myself an HTC HD7 and it was awesome. Extremely fast and responsive, intuitive, easily integrated with the most of the services I used on a regular basis…. Then I came back to Trinidad, and the experience with the smart phone was very different. Why? let’s dig into the details of that another day.

While I love the HTC HD7, Android is totally dominating the (global) market and has a whole lot more of the
1. Services that are applicable to lower bandwidth mobile internet connections
2. Services that will assist in saving money
3. Services with more content applicable to Trinidad and the Caribbean

So since I have a perfectly working HTC Touch Diamond 2 at my disposal …

HTC Touch Diamond 2 ... meet Android

[I am in the process of gathers the resources necessary to complete this exercise, and will update this post with links to instructions and the necessary resources as I come across them. For now, check out: Android on HTC]

I’m going to try to get this done this weekend… I’ll let you all know how it goes and have a review of using the services available on that platform as compared to Windows Phone 7.

* Footnote on “Content” – The Creation of Caribbean and regional content is something that the recently installed chairman of the iGovTT board has been attempting to bring awareness to:
http://www.newsday.co.tt/businessday/0,134393.html
InfoComm Technologies

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Android, Mobile, Mobile Web, National & Regional Development, Random Thoughts, Uncategorized, Web 2.0, WP7

Leave a Reply

Calendar
February 2011
S M T W T F S
    Apr »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 410 other followers

